Search :  

VH-OJK

Return to the forum index
Post a message for this thread

Share |

jc747400

Number of messages:

Topic: VH-OJK - Sent 29 Apr 13:36

Gday guys, this was the QF a/c which had the explosion and now in storage apparently..anyone know where? This I understand was not the only incident, OJK was known as the QF cursed airliner ...

User profil Private message Suggest deletion    

matt757

Number of messages:
  Topic: VH-OJK - Sent 29 Apr 18:32

There's a picture of it boarded up on airliners.net in February at Victorville, Southern California.

FLX

Number of messages:
  Topic: VH-OJK - Sent 30 Apr 9:28

Obviously I'm no expert in aircraft structure but I'm guessing it must be very tricky/difficult/expensive to repair damages due to violent explosion inside the fuselage. While many structural pieces+system+wirings deep within the hull may still be functioning, some must hv been compromised but invisible/hard to detect whether if they're still airworthy or meet tolerance specs.

QF will probably need to completely disassemble large fuselage sections<Down to every nut & bolt> in order to restore VH-OJK properly IMHO. Since all 744s<Excluding the 744ERs> @ QF are pretty close to frontline service retirement age, I wouldn't be surprised if VH-OJK is getting an early retirement instead of a very costly repair.....it'll still be a good source of expensive parts for fellow 744 airframes still remaining in the QF fleet.

oldbold

Number of messages:
  Topic: VH-OJK - Sent 01 May 11:53

As well as the six -438ERs, Qantas has three 1999-vintage 438s.
My guess is that these are the nine aircraft that will have their internal fittings upgraded next year to eliminate First Class, and remain in service on some routes for another five or more years. See:- http://www.aviationrecord.com/SearchResults/tabid/37/articleType/ArticleView/articleId/2410/Qantas-to-revamp-747-A380-seats-service.asp